Boston Bruins NHL | St. Louis Blues

Video: Blues Score Game-Winning Goal After Uncalled Tripping Penalty

Written by Nate

In a critical Game 5 in the Stanley Cup Finals, the St. Louis Blues scored a game-winning goal to put themselves on the brink of winning their first ever Cup.

But it was scored after the referee missed an obvious tripping penalty which set up the goal.

In a scramble for the puck in the third period, Blues forward Tyler Bosak tripped up Boston Bruins forward Noel Acciari with his right leg who was in pursuit. 

A video by J. Stark on Twitter showed a replay of the trip and the goal right afterwards.

The uncalled penalty led up to the goal by forward David Perron on route to a 2-1 Blues victory.

According to Bruins head coach Bruce Cassidy via Mike Harrington, he said the missed call was a ‘black eye’ to the NHL.

Here are tweets of what a couple fans thought of the goal and officiating.

For a lot of fans, officiating will be heavily looked upon as the Final shifts to St. Louis where the Blues have a 3-2 series lead. 

The face-off for Game 6 is scheduled for Sunday June 9, at 8 p.m.

About the author