The Pro Football Hall of Fame Announced The Five Players Elected to the 2020 Class

Written by Nik D

Five “modern era” players received the knock on their door to notify them of their selection to the Pro Football Hall of Fame: Steve Atwater, Isaac Bruce, Steve Hutchinson, Troy Polamalu, and Edgerrin James. All five will be enshrined in Canton, OH in August to kick off the 2020 NFL season.

These players all certainly deserve this great and exclusive honor. You will hear plenty about each of them during Hall of Fame week, but here is a quick run down of each player.

Steve Atwater – Safety

Atwater played 11 seasons in the NFL, 10 with Denver and one with the New York Jets.

In his 167 regular season games, Atwater accumulated 1,188 tackles, 5 sacks, 24 interceptions, and 1 touchdown.

Atwater won two Super Bowls with the Broncos.

This was his 16th year of Hall of Fame eligibility.

Isaac Bruce – Wide Receiver

Bruce was a member of the Ram’s “Greatest Show on Turf” teams. He spent 14 seasons with the Rams and two with the 49ers.

Bruce caught 1,024 passes (13th all time) for 15,208 yards (5th all time) and 91 touchdowns (12th all time).

This was his 6th year of Hall of Fame eligibility.

Steve Hutchinson – Guard

Hutchinson was a dominant force at left guard for a decade in the NFL. Hutchinson spent five years in Seattle where he paved the way for Shaun Alexander and six years in Minnesota where opened holes for Adrian Peterson.

Hutchinson was a seven time Pro-Bowler and five time All-Pro

This is Hutchinson’s 3rd year of Hall of Fame eligibility after spending one season with the Tennessee Titans.

Troy Polamalu – Safety

Polamalu spent his entire 12 year career with the Pittsburgh Steelers.

Polamalu was known for being all over the field for a Steeler team that won two Super Bowls during his time there. He amassed 783 tackles, 12 sacks, 32 interceptions, and 107 passes defended over the course of his career.

This was Polamalu’s first year of Hall of Fame eligibility.

Edgerrin James – Running Back

James was a key part of the Colts dynamic offense for seven seasons after being drafted fourth overall in 1999. Edge led the league in rushing yards his first two seasons in the league, while proving to be a capable pass catcher as well.

In 11 seasons, James played for the Colts, Cardinals, and Seahawks compiling 15,610 yards from scrimmage and 91 total touch downs.

This was James’ sixth year of Hall of Fame eligibility

Please enable Javascript to view this content

About the author

Nik D