BLOG Dallas Cowboys New York Giants NFL Philadelphia Eagles

The NFC East Is The Best Division In The NFL

Written by Tony Ghaul

The NFC East becomes first division since 2002 realignment to have three teams advance to divisional round.

The NFC East was the best division in football, compiling a 43-23-2 record and getting three teams into the playoffs. The NFC East had the third-best win percentage for a division in NFL history (.647) since the merger and backed up its claim as the best division in football this postseason.

The Philadelphia Eagles enjoyed their bye week, as the Dallas Cowboys demolished the Tampa Bay Buccaneers and the New York Giants defeated the Minnesota Vikings. The last time three teams from the same division made it to the Divisional Round was in 1997. The San Francisco 49ers are the only team remaining in the NFC, that is from a different division.

The Washington Commanders were also in the playoff hunt before losing three straight games following their Week 14 bye week.

The Eagles face Giants on Saturday night, while Cowboys go up against the 49ers on Sunday Night. The NFC East is guaranteed to guaranteed to have at least one representative in Championship Weekend. A win by the Cowboys over the Niners on Sunday night would leave an all-NFC East conference championship.

In the 1992 season, the NFC East sent three teams (Dallas, Philadelphia and Washington) to the Divisional Round and the 49ers were once again the odd team out.

This season, the Eagles look poised to make it to the Super Bowl with a stacked roster and potential MVP Jalen Hurts. They’ll host the Giants and a red-hot Daniel Jones in the Divisional Round while the Cowboys, led by Dak Prescott, travel west to face the 49ers.

Photo courtsey of Twitter

About the author

Tony Ghaul