NBA Renames MVP Trophy After Michael Jordan

Written by Tony Ghaul

The NBA is renaming its annual regular-season MVP award after Michael Jordan.

The Michael Jordan Trophy, which will be awarded to the NBA’s regular season MVP, is one of six newly designed awards created to honor “the league pioneers who helped define the standards of excellence that these trophies represent,” the NBA said in a statement on Tuesday.

Jordan won the MVP award five times during his career, which spanned 15 NBA seasons in total: 13 with the Chicago Bulls (1984/85 through 1992/93 then 1994/95 through 1997/98) and two seasons with the Washington Wizards (2001/02 and 2002/03).

Five other NBA legends were also honored in the revamp, which also features a redesign of those trophies:

  • Defensive Player of the Year: The Hakeem Olajuwon Trophy
  • Rookie of the Year: The Wilt Chamberlain Trophy
  • Sixth Man of the Year: The John Havlicek Trophy
  • Most Improved Player: The George Mikan Trophy
  • Clutch Player of the Year: The Jerry West Trophy

Photo courtsey of CNN

Please enable Javascript to view this content

About the author

Tony Ghaul