Tonight isn’t just election night, but begins MLB award season! The first awards are the MLB Gold Glove awards. We reported the candidates here.

They started with AL Infield.

First base: Mariners’ Evan White. The 24 year old first baseman made his MLB debut this season, struggling at the plate. However, his defense was outstanding. He is rewarded with his first gold glove.

Second base: Cesar Hernandez. In his first year as an Indian, one of the more underappreciated defenders finally received his gold glove.

Shortstop: JP Crawford. The Mariners are one of two teams to have their shortstop and first baseman win the gold glove in 2020.

Third base: Isaiah Kiner-Falefa. Yankees fans will cry that Giovanny Urshela was robbed, but the award stays in the West as Kiner-Falefa was just on another level this season. Athletics’ Matt Chapman had won in back to back seasons before an injury riddled 2020.

Next was the NL Infield.

First base: Anthony Rizzo. Rizzo is a stellar defending who’s aging like wine on that side of the diamond. It’s his fourth career gold glove.

Second base: Kolten Wong. The decision to release him is still startling on the Cardinals end, but Kolten Wong takes home his second consecutive award.

Shortstop: Javier Baez. Fernando Tatis may have been snubbed when he wasn’t even nominated, but Baez has been one of the flashiest players with the leather for years and finally has his gold glove award.

Third base: Nolan Arenado. That’s it. That’s the explanation. He’s won his eighth straight, most to start a career. He’s the best defensive player of the last decade.

AL Outfield.

Left: Alex Gordon. Even though he came up as a third baseman, he will retire with eight left field gold gloves. He’s tied for most in Royals history.

Center: Luis Robert. Kevin Kiermaer may have been the best by most metrics, but Robert is superb athlete and an absolute phenom, and his defense supports this. Sky is the limit for the White Sox rookie.

Right: Joey Gallo. Overdue, but this is the first year he had a specific position. Gallo proved just how great of a defender he can be in 2020.

NL Outfield.

Left: Tyler O’Neill. Leading all NL outfielders in defensive runs saved and he received his first gold glove.

Center: In a stunning turn of events, Trent Grisham has beaten out Ronald Acuna and Cody Bellinger just a year after his glove cost the Brewers the Wild Card Game. He turned into a stellar defender and led NL CFers in defensive runs saved this season.

Right: Mookie Betts. Betts had won four in the AL, but showed just how much of a generational defender he is in the postseason for the World Champion Dodgers this season.


NL: Tucker Barnhart. It was all NL Central, but Tucker Barnhart takes it for the second time in his career.

AL: Roberto Perez won his second consecutive gold glove, despite rival White Sox having two nominees.


AL: Griffin Canning had a career year and took the next step at 24. He won the gold glove.

NL: Max Fried. Two Cubs were nominated, but the Braves ace was just too sensational with the leather this season.