FIFA World Cup 2022: all participants in Qatar revealed

Written by TrevStone

All the participants of World Cup 2022, which will be held from 21 November to 18 December in Qatar, were announced yesterday. The last lucky one was the Costa Rican national team, which on June 15 defeated New Zealand in the qualifying rounds. Meanwhile, Vulkan Bet sports betting experts have singled out nine main candidates for the gold medal, but they say Brazil’s national team is the favorite. 

Final contestants

In the last match of the qualifying tournament the national team of Costa Rica met with New Zealand. The game, held at the Ahmed Bin Ali Stadium in Al Rayyan (Qatar), ended with a 1-0 win for Costa Rica.

The only goal in the third minute was scored by former London Arsenal striker Joel Campbell. 69 minutes into the match, the New Zealanders were reduced to ten men.

A direct red card was given to striker Kosta Barbaruses, who had come on as a substitute shortly before. Costa Rica became the last team to qualify for the final stage of the World Cup. Australia got their World Cup berth the day before, June 13, when they beat Peru in a penalty shoot-out.

Thus, all 32 participants in the World Cup finals have been determined.

  • Europe: England, Belgium, Croatia, Denmark, Germany, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Serbia, Spain, Switzerland and Wales.
  • South America: Argentina, Brasil, Ecuador, Uruguay.
  • Africa: Ghana, Morocco, Senegal, Cameroon, Tunisia.
  • Asia: Iran, Qatar, Japan, Saudi Arabia, South Korea, Australia.
  • North America: Canada, USA, Mexico, Costa Rica.

Draw results for the World Cup 2022

The draw for the final stage of World Cup 2022 was held in April. According to the regulations, all the national teams have been divided into eight groups of four. The winners and runners-up from each group will advance to the final round of 16.

  • Group A: Qatar, Netherlands, Senegal, Ecuador
  • Group B: England, USA, Iran, Wales
  • Group C: Argentina, Mexico, Poland, Saudi Arabia
  • Group D: France, Denmark, Tunisia, Australia
  • Group E: Spain, Germany, Japan, Costa Rica
  • Group F: Belgium, Croatia, Morocco, Canada
  • Group G: Brazil, Switzerland, Serbia, Cameroon
  • Group H: Portugal, Uruguay, South Korea, Ghana

We would like to add that the Ukraine national team failed to qualify for the Mundial in Qatar. In the semifinal of play-off for the World Cup 2022 Petrakov’s charges beat Scotland 3-1, and in the final the Ukrainians lost to Wales 0-1.

World Cup 2022: what to know about the tournament

The 2022 World Cup is the first World Cup to be held from November to December, rather than in summer. The World Cup finals in Qatar will be held from 21 November to 18 December 2022.

The final match will take place on 18 December 2022 at the National Stadium in Lusail, which has a capacity of 80,000 spectators. The Qatar Mundial will be the last one in which 32 teams will take part. From 2026 onwards, the tournament will bring together the world’s top 48 teams. 

Image from:

About the author


Trevor 'TrevStone' Uren founded Pro Sports Extra in 2011 at the age of 13. He's hosted a podcast since 14 years old and continues to grow each month! He's currently 24 years old and has interviewed hundreds of professional athletes, business owners, and others who are shining online! Uren has built Pro Sports Extra to over 5M monthly visitors.