AP Announced NFL MVP Finalists

Written by Tony Ghaul

The AP announced the finalists for the NFL MVP award: Kansas City Chiefs QB Patrick Mahomes, Cincinnati Bengals QB Joe Burrow, Philadelphia Eagles QB Jalen Hurts, Buffalo Bills QB Josh Allen, and Minnesota Vikings WR Justin Jefferson.

Mahomes led the league with a career-high 5,250 passing yards and 41 touchdowns. He also completed a career-high 67.1 percent of his passes and finished with a 105.2 passer rating.

Burrow completed 68.3 percent of his passes for 4,475 yards with 35 touchdowns and 12 interceptions, good for a 100.8 passer rating.

Hurts passed for 3,701 yards with 22 touchdowns and six picks while also rushing for 760 yards with 13 touchdowns. The Eagles were 14-1 in games Hurts started.

Allen threw for 4,283 yards with 35 touchdowns and 14 interceptions, though he also had 13 fumbles with five lost in the regular season.

Jefferson led the NFL with 128 catches and 1,809 yards receiving in his third season with the Minnesota Vikings. Jefferson was one of two unanimous choices for AP All-Pro along with Chiefs TE Travis Kelce.

The winners will be announced at NFL Honors on Feb. 9. A nationwide panel of 50 media members who regularly cover the league completed voting before the start of the playoffs.

Photo courtsey of NFL – Twitter

About the author

Tony Ghaul